Mayor and City Commission

The Chiloquin City Council consists of a Mayor and six Council members. At each biennial general election, three Council positions are voted on, each for a four-year term. The Mayor is elected every four years.

The Chiloquin City Council meets every second and fourth Tuesday of the month at 5:30 PM at City Hall, 127 S First Street. Meetings are open to the public. If meetings are rescheduled those changes will be posted on our website, and on our public boards outside City Hall and the Post Office.

Where powers vested. Except as city charter provides otherwise, all powers of the city shall be vested in the Council.

The duties of the Mayor include:

- The Mayor presides over deliberations of the Council, preserves order, enforces Council rules and determines the order of business under the rules.
- Shall have no veto power and shall sign all ordinances passed by the Council after their passing.
- Appoints members of committees established by the Council.
- Appoints other persons required by the Council to be so appointed.
- Casts a vote only in the case of a tie.

The current Mayor and Council members are:

- Mayor, Julie Bettles
- Council Member #1 Robert Cowie
- Council Member #2 Joe Allen Sr.
- Council Member #3 Jill Prewitt
- Council Member #4 Gunga Hescock (also the Pro-Tem mayor)
- Council Member #5 Michelle Ochoa
- Council Member #6 Kevin Ketner

View PDF